Complete US Mint Year Set (Foreign and Domestic) – 1912

With no new coins being issued this year, and the wait for the new 5-cent piece next year, 1912 was a relatively calm year for numismatists. Our mints only produced coins for Costa Rica and the Philippines, and there were no pattern coins, so collectors could place their emphasis upon the 29 domestic issues and the six minted for other countries to add to their collections.

In world news, the Republic of China was established, New Mexico becomes the 47th state, Arizona became the 48th, the Yankees lost 102 games (I love it), and Woodrow Wilson wins the presidency, defeating Teddy and Taft but will not begin serving until March 4, 1913. All in all, it was a dull year.

The following are the coins you wish your grand-parents had collected for you back in 1912:

  • Lincoln Cent – P, D, S, & Proof
  • V-Nickel – P, D, S, & Proof
  • Barber Dime – P, D, S, & Proof
  • Barber Quarter – P, S & Proof
  • Barber Half – P, D, S, & Proof
  • Indian Head Quarter Eagle & Proof
  • Indian Head Half Eagle - P, S, & Proof
  • Indian Head Eagle - P, S, & Proof
  • Saint-Gaudens Double Eagle & Proof

Coins Minted in United States for Other Nations

Costa Rica
  • 5 Centimos, 90% silver
  • 10 Centimos, 90% silver
  • 1 Centavo (95% copper/5% tin & zinc) S
  • 10 Centavos (75% silver/25% copper) S
  • 20 Centavos (75% silver/25% copper) S
  • 1 Peso (80% silver/20% copper) S

There Were No Pattern Coins This Year